Return to Programs

Tree Friendly Community

Delaware’s “Tree-Friendly Community Program” honors communities and homeowner associations committed to protecting and enhancing our state’s urban forest resources. These are the current Delaware communities that have achieved this distinction:

New Castle County: Alapocas, Carrcroft, Champions’ Club, Edenridge I & II, Tavistock, Wawaset, Westover Hills A, Westover Hills C, Wilmington & Brandywine Cemetery

Sussex County: Bayside, Baywood, Creekside, Coveside,  Dockside, Lakeside, Seaside

A community can qualify for the honor by accomplishing three (3) of the following:

  1. perform an annual ceremony to promote community forests
  2. complete a tree project that enhances existing urban forests
  3. develop a community forestry management plan
  4. adopt a community tree ordinance that protects trees
  5. form a tree commission or tree board that serves as the guiding body for tree-related decisions
  6. have a tree budget of $1 per residential household.

    Click here to download a  Tree Friendly Application now.

For more information, contact Michael Martini at (302) 659-6704 or email at